News from Mozambique | August 2014 (part 2)

Dear friends,

Last night I came back from a 10day bush evangelism and I am very excited to share with you about what God has done there! Me and another staff member lead a team of Missions School students and Bible School students into several remote villages of Mozambique (Nairoto, Balama, Ntete and town of Montepuez). Every day of the outreach was filled with opportunities to love on people, pray and minister to them, spend time with children and do classes for new believers. In this letter I would like to share two highlights of my time in the bush.

God did some incredible things there, but we also faced opposition as we were ministering in some villages. For example, we wanted to show Jesus film in a small place called Ntete but our generator wouldn’t start. I believe that this way the Lord actually protected us because local people were acting quite violently towards us. As we were heading back to our camp from the place where we wanted to show the film, locals started throwing rocks and sticks at us. In the same village an elderly man with no eyeballs came up to us and asked for prayer, we spent some time praying for new eyes for him, but nothing would change. The following day he came to visit us again, and an eyeball started forming in his eye! The pictures below were taken the first and second day, so you can even see the difference!

IMG-20140818-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20140818-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20140818-WA0000.jpg

I believe that even as we are not there anymore, God is bringing to completion the work that He has started and that the healing of that man will actually testify of God’s love and power. The Lord also reminded me of a story in Mark 5: 1-20 where Jesus was asked to leave a certain area. I feel that as in that Scripture a delieverd man became a testimony to the people that asked Jesus to leave, the elderly man of Ntete will become a testimony of God’s power and it will bring many to repentance.

We also visited a bigger village called Balama where there was no church yet. As we were ministering and sharing testimonies there, around 2000 people gathered to listen and watch. Finally, when we made an altar call, all of them raised their hands up because they wanted to receive Jesus! I felt very strong hunger for Jesus in that place and locals expressed a desire to have a church in that area. These following months evangelism teams will be going to Balama more often to encourage local christians, disciple leaders and help with construction of a new church.

As I already mentioned in my previous letters, on Tuesday I will be travelling to Maputo to get a visa to South Africa. Please keep me in your prayers as I go through visa application process. I believe for divine favor and wisdom in the whole situation. Please also pray for God’s protection as I am travelling and financial provision.

I also would like to ask you to pray for upcoming October - December Missions School. This following school will be a great adventure: we will spend first two weeks ministering in Johannesburg, after that we will be going to Nelspruit for another two weeks, and in November the whole school will be transferred back to Pemba. I feel that this will be a time of God stretching students and staff on a whole new level, teaching us flexibility and complete trust in Him. Also, this will be time of pioneering and starting something new from almost a scratch since the school is taking a whole new format. We will be out in the bush and in the streets even more than before, ministering to locals and serving children in the orphanages.

At the end of the school I will be leading a team of fifteen people on outreach to Kenya for three weeks. We will be ministering to prostitutes in the streets and brothels as well as joining local missionaries in daily prayer and intercession for the city of Mombasa. Please join me in praying for this outreach, as I feel that hearts of each team member need to be prepared to see and experience the things that go on in the streets of Mombasa. As a team we really need to be filled with Him in order to give ourselves to those who are broken, rejected and desperate. We also need God’s leading and protection. I want to see saved souls, children delievered from sex trafficking and prostitution. If you get anything in prayer, please share with me as well.

Thank you so much for all your love, prayers and support. For me it is very important and I really appreciate it.

Much love,
Natasha

 
10
Kudos
 
10
Kudos

Now read this

News from Mozambique | September 2014

Dear friends, here is a little update on my life in Mozambique :). After our 10 day bush-bush was over I headed to Maputo, capital of Mozambique, and had some good moments connecting with Iris Global bases there. With a group from Iris... Continue →